Doctoral Dissertation Award

The Doctoral Dissertation Award (DDA) is for doctoral students who demonstrate significant originality and technical competence in any supply chain function. The DDA is open to all who will have completed their doctoral work in a field related to functions within the supply chain. The winner will be presented their award during CSCMP’s Academic Research Symposium.

View the Doctoral Dissertation Submission Guidelines

The Selection Process

A selection committee comprised of both academics and practitioners using a blind review process will evaluate dissertation abstracts. The author's name must remain unknown and therefore the abstract should not make any reference to either the author or his/her academic institution.

Three easy ways to send your submissions:
Fax: +1 630.574.0989
Mail: ATTN: Julie Bodenstab
Conference Coordinator
Council of Supply Chain Management Professionals
333 East Butterfield Road, Suite 140
Lombard, Illinois 60148-5617 USA

Questions? Call +1 630.574.0985 or e-mail

Past Recipients

2016 Dr. Barbara Yilmaz, Ph.D., WHU – Otto Beisheim School of Management
2015 Jason Miller, Colorado State University
2014 William Schmidt, Harvard Business School
2013 Jason A. Acimovic, Massachusetts Institute of Technology’s Operations Research Center
2012 Xiang(Sean) Wan, University of Maryland, Smith School of Business
2011 Haritha Metta, University of Kentucky
2010 Matthias Ehrgott, WHU—Otto Beisheim School of Management, Vallendar, German
2009 Timothy J. Pettit, The Ohio State University
2008 Dilay Çelebi, Istanbul Technical University
2007 Arunachalam Narayanan, Texas A&M University
2006 Supriya Mitra, Syracuse University
2005 Haiqing Song, Sun Yat-Sen University
2004 Paulo Marcio Gonçalves, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2003 Jarid Karim, Warwick University
2002 Julie Swann, Georgia Institute of Technology
2001 Moritz Fleischmann, Eramus University, Rotterdam
2000 Cenk Caliskan, University of Southern California
1999 Remko I. Van Hoek, Erasmus University Rotterdam
1998 John L. Kent, Southwest Missouri State University
1997 Christopher G. Caplice, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1996 Harry L. Sink, University of Tennessee
1995 Julie Gentry, Arizona State University
1994 Timothy C. Johnston, University of California-Berkeley
1993 David A. Menachof, University of Tennessee
1992 Daniel E. Innis, The Ohio State University
1991 John Pooley, Pennsylvania State University
1990 John T. Gardner, The Ohio State University
1988 Edward H. Frazelle, Georgia Institute of Technology
1987 Jule Gassenheimer, University of Alabama
1986 Diane Twede, Michigan State University
1985 Mary K. Allen, The Ohio State University
1984 David E. Lloyd, The Ohio State University
1983 Nada R. Sanders, The Ohio State University
1982 Ersell Powell Robinson, Jr., University of Texas
1981 Martha Cooper, The Ohio State University
1980 Jossef Perl, Northwestern University
1979 Howard M. Armitage, Michigan State University
1978 Frances Gaither Tucker, The Ohio State University
1977 Michael Levy, The Ohio State University
1976 Douglas A. Fisher, Indiana University
1975 Douglas M. Lambert, The Ohio State University
1974 Joe Cavinato, Pennsylvania State University
1973 Kenneth Graham, University of Wisconsin