Distinguished Service Award

For more than 50 years, CSCMP has presented its Distinguished Service Award (DSA), our highest honor, at the annual conference to an academic, consultant, or practitioner who exemplifies significant, consistent, and career-long contributions to the development of the logistics and supply chain management disciplines.
Nomination Guidelines

Please note:
Any individual who has demonstrated exemplary service to the professions is eligible to be nominated. The selected individual will have shown high integrity and moral principles throughout his or her professional career.

DSA Award Winners

2016 Distinguished Service Award Winner

Dr. Chris Caplice, Executive Director of the MIT Center for Transportation and Logistics

Past Award Winners

2015 Robert Martichenko, Chief Executive Officer, LeanCor Supply Chain Group
2014 Mike Regan, Chief of Relationship Development, TranzAct Technologies, Inc.
2013 Abré Pienaar, CEO, iPlan
2012 Ann Drake, Chairman & CEO, DSC Logistics
2011 Dr. James R. Stock, Frank Harvey Endowed Professor of Marketing, University of South Florida
2010 Charles L. Taylor, Founder and Principal, Awake! Consulting
2009 Joel L. Sutherland, Managing Director of Lehigh University’s Center for Value Chain Research
2008 Arthur Mesher, CEO, The Descartes Systems Group Inc.
2007 Thomas W. Speh, Distinguished Professor of Distribution, Miami University
2006 Herbert S. Shear, Chief Executive Officer, GENCO
2005 Martin G. Christopher, Professor of Marketing and Logistics, Cranfield University, UK
2004 John Thomas Mentzer, Distinguished Professor of Logistics, University of Tennessee
2003 H. Lee Scott, Jr., Chairman, Wal-Mart Corporation
2002 Donald J. Schneider, Chairman, Schneider Logistics, Inc.
2001 Ralph W. Drayer, Vice President Customer Service & Logistics, Procter & Gamble
1999 Richard F. Powers, President, Insight, Inc.
1998 William C. Copacino, Managing Partner, Andersen Consulting Strategic Services Practice
1997 Yossi Sheffi, Professor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1996 Larry S. Mulkey, President, Ryder Integrated Logistics
1995 Joseph C. Andraski, Vice President Integrated Logistics, Nabisco Inc.
1994 Roger W. Carlson, Executive Vice President, Exel Logistics-North America
1993 C. John Langley, John H. Dove Distinguished Professor, University of Tennessee
1992 Howard S. Gochberg, Vice President (retired), Land O'Lakes, Inc.
1991 John J. Coyle, Exec. Director, Center for Logistics Research, Pennsylvania State University
1990 Roger W. Kallock, Chairman, Cleveland Consulting Associates
1989 Frederick W. Smith, CEO/Chairman, Federal Express Corporation
1988 George A. Gecowets, Executive Vice President, Council of Logistics Management
1987 Ronald E. Seger, Vice President, A.T. Kearney, Inc.
1986 Douglas M. Lambert, Professor of Marketing, University of South Florida
1985 Arthur W. Todd, Director of Purchasing, Lincoln Electric Company
1984 Bob Packwood, United States Senate
1983 Bernard J. Hale, Vice President, Distribution Services, Bergen Brunswig Corporation
1982 Jerome D. Krassenstein, Vice President, Chessie System
1981 Robert V. Delaney, Manager of Distribution, International Paper Company
1980 Clifford F. Lynch, Vice President of Distribution, Quaker Oats Company
1979 Wendell M. Stewart, Vice President, A.T. Kearney, Inc.
1978 Robert J. Franco, Vice Chairman, Spector Industries,
1977 Kenneth B. Ackerman, Chairman, Distribution Centers, Inc.
1976 Bernard J. LaLonde, Professor of Marketing & Logistics, The Ohio State University
1975 Burr W. Hupp, Managing Director, Drake Sheahan/Stewart Dougall
1974 James L. Heskett, Professor of Business Logistics, Harvard University
1973 Robert E. Schellberg, Vice President, Distribution, Eastman Kodak Company
1972 Warren Blanding, Executive Vice President, Marketing Publications, Inc.
1971 Mark Egan, Tourism Advisor for Turkey
1970 Gayton E. Germane, Professor of Logistics, Stanford University
1969 Bruce J. Riggs, General Traffic Manager, Norton Company
1968 Edward W. Smykay, Professor, Michigan State University
1967 E. Grosvenor Plowman, Vice President, Traffic, US Steel
1966 Donald J. Bowersox, Vice President/General Manager, E.F. MacDonald Stamp Company
1965 Will Gribble, Director, Customer Service, Pillsbury Company