Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award (DSA) is presented annually during the CSCMP EDGE conference. The DSA honors an outstanding individual who exemplifies significant, consistent, and career-long contributions to the development of the logistics and supply chain management disciplines. 

Any individual who has made significant contributions to the fields of logistics and supply chain management are eligible to receive the Distinguished Service Award. This includes practitioners with responsibilities in functional areas of logistics and supply chain management, consultants, and educators. For example, an individual could be nominated for contributions or innovations involving technology or in educating others about logistics and supply chain management, or for increasing awareness of the critical role that logistics and supply chain management plays in the global economy to the business community at large. 

CSCMP is accepting nominations from January 18, 2021, through COB March 15, 2021. Submit a nomination

2020 Distinguished Service Award Recipient

Matthew A. Waller

Matthew A. Waller, Ph.D.
Dean of the Sam M. Walton College of Business

Matthew A. Waller, Ph.D. is Dean of the Sam M. Walton College of Business. He is also Professor of Supply Chain Management and holds the Sam M. Walton Endowed Leadership Chair in Business at the University of Arkansas.
In his time in the dean’s office, Waller has started many new initiatives, reached out for interdisciplinary programs across the university and laid plans to push the Walton College to even higher accomplishments and accolades. For example, in 2016 the college opened the McMillon Innovation Studio with a gift from Walmart Chief Executive Officer and Walton College alumnus Doug McMillon and his wife, Shelley. In addition, in 2020 the Department of Accounting was endowed by Bill Dillard and is now the William Dillard Department of Accounting.
Waller received a B.S.B.A. summa cum laude from the University of Missouri, and an M.S. and Ph.D. from Pennsylvania State University. His business experience includes being co-founder of Bentonville Associates Ventures in 1996-2002 and co-founder of Mecari Technologies in 1998-2002. He has been involved in many consulting engagements with consumer goods companies and high tech growth companies.
He is co-inventor of U.S. Patent No. 6,341,269 B1 for a System, Method and Article of Manufacture to Optimize Inventory and Merchandising Shelf Space Utilization. He was co-editor-in-chief of Journal of Business Logistics, the leading academic journal in the discipline. His opinion pieces have appeared in Wall Street Journal Asia and Financial Times and he has been an SEC Academic Leadership Fellow. His research and teaching focus is on supply chain management and leadership.
Waller is coauthor of The Definitive Guide to Inventory Management published by Pearson Education. He also co-authored with J.B. Hunt Transport Inc. Chairman Kirk Thompson the book Purple on the Inside: How J.B. Hunt Transport Set Itself Apart in a Field Full of Brown Cows, the story of leaders and team members who tap into their founder’s spirit for innovation while maintaining the focus and high level of performance needed to grow. He is also co-author of Integrating Blockchain into Supply Chain Management.
Waller is an SEC Academic Leadership Fellow.


Past Recipients

2019: Kathy Wengel, Executive Vice President and Chief Global Supply Chain Officer for Johnson & Johnson
2018: Dr. John Gattorna, Author, Academic and Principal of Gattorna Alignment
2017: Dr. Nancy Nix, Executive Director of Achieving Women's Excellence in Supply Chain Operations, Management, and Education (AWESOME)
2016: Dr. Chris Caplice, Executive Director of the MIT Center for Transportation and Logistics
2015: Robert Martichenko, Chief Executive Officer, LeanCor Supply Chain Group
2014: Mike Regan, Chief of Relationship Development, TranzAct Technologies, Inc.
2013: Abré Pienaar, CEO, iPlan
2012: Ann Drake, Chairman & CEO, DSC Logistics
2011: Dr. James R. Stock, Frank Harvey Endowed Professor of Marketing, University of South Florida
2010: Charles L. Taylor, Founder and Principal, Awake! Consulting
2009: Joel L. Sutherland, Managing Director of Lehigh University's Center for Value Chain Research
2008: Arthur Mesher, CEO, The Descartes Systems Group Inc.
2007: Thomas W. Speh, Distinguished Professor of Distribution, Miami University
2006: Herbert S. Shear, Chief Executive Officer, GENCO
2005: Martin G. Christopher, Professor of Marketing and Logistics, Cranfield University, UK
2004: John Thomas Mentzer, Distinguished Professor of Logistics, University of Tennessee
2003: H. Lee Scott, Jr., Chairman, Wal-Mart Corporation
2002: Donald J. Schneider, Chairman, Schneider Logistics, Inc.
2001: Ralph W. Drayer, Vice President Customer Service & Logistics, Procter & Gamble
1999: Richard F. Powers, President, Insight, Inc.
1998: William C. Copacino, Managing Partner, Andersen Consulting Strategic Services Practice
1997: Yossi Sheffi, Professor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1996: Larry S. Mulkey, President, Ryder Integrated Logistics
1995: Joseph C. Andraski, Vice President Integrated Logistics, Nabisco Inc.
1994: Roger W. Carlson, Executive Vice President, Exel Logistics-North America
1993: C. John Langley, John H. Dove Distinguished Professor, University of Tennessee
1992: Howard S. Gochberg, Vice President (retired), Land O'Lakes, Inc.
1991: John J. Coyle, Exec. Director, Center for Logistics Research, Pennsylvania State University
1990: Roger W. Kallock, Chairman, Cleveland Consulting Associates
1989: Frederick W. Smith, CEO/Chairman, Federal Express Corporation
1988: George A. Gecowets, Executive Vice President, Council of Logistics Management
1987: Ronald E. Seger, Vice President, A.T. Kearney, Inc.
1986: Douglas M. Lambert, Professor of Marketing, University of South Florida
1985: Arthur W. Todd, Director of Purchasing, Lincoln Electric Company
1984: Bob Packwood, United States Senate
1983: Bernard J. Hale, Vice President, Distribution Services, Bergen Brunswig Corporation
1982: Jerome D. Krassenstein, Vice President, Chessie System
1981: Robert V. Delaney, Manager of Distribution, International Paper Company
1980: Clifford F. Lynch, Vice President of Distribution, Quaker Oats Company
1979: Wendell M. Stewart, Vice President, A.T. Kearney, Inc.
1978: Robert J. Franco, Vice Chairman, Spector Industries
1977: Kenneth B. Ackerman, Chairman, Distribution Centers, Inc.
1976: Bernard J. LaLonde, Professor of Marketing & Logistics, The Ohio State University
1975: Burr W. Hupp, Managing Director, Drake Sheahan/Stewart Dougall
1974: James L. Heskett, Professor of Business Logistics, Harvard University
1973: Robert E. Schellberg, Vice President, Distribution, Eastman Kodak Company
1972: Warren Blanding, Executive Vice President, Marketing Publications, Inc.
1971: Mark Egan, Tourism Advisor for Turkey
1970: Gayton E. Germane, Professor of Logistics, Stanford University
1969: Bruce J. Riggs, General Traffic Manager, Norton Company
1968: Edward W. Smykay, Professor, Michigan State University
1967: E. Grosvenor Plowman, Vice President, Traffic, US Steel
1966: Donald J. Bowersox, Vice President/General Manager, E.F. MacDonald Stamp Company
1965: Will Gribble, Director, Customer Service, Pillsbury Company